The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The stated arguments is that funding an expensive subway system will relieve traffic congestion in the city. As a consequence, there will be an immediate increase in worker's productivity leading to an overall improvement of the economy. While it's not a bad idea to tackle traffic congestion, this author's argument does not make a cogent case to support this goal. It's easy to perceive why the mayor may find his logic appealing, nonetheless the argument is replete with holes and unfounded assumptions.

While it may be expected for a subway system to enable citizens of the town to embrace the use of it, causing a wane in traffic, data has to be provided to back up this claim. There is no evidence that the town's citizens are on board with this idea. In our society, many people may regard their vehicle as an achievement that they may loathe to give up. Overall, people may like the idea of spending less time in traffic, but who is willing to try the new subway system to make it happen? Will there be incentives to achieve this goal? There is hope for this idea to work, but no data is provided to deal with potential reluctance from the public.

Another major point made in the text above is the complaint of the inconsistency and lack of safety in buses. One may presume that the subway may deal with the issue of inconsistency. However, the lack of safety is not addressed in this plan. The subway's availability of 24 hours may provide a new venue for this issue to be exacerbated. As a whole, this complements the idea of the reluctance citizen's may have to utilize the subway.

Lastly, the whole argument is tied to the idea that less traffic time will lead to an immediate increase in worker productivity. The term "worker productivity" is ambiguous. How will this metric be measured? Who qualifies as a worker? What is the specific time frame they are looking for to define an improvement? Is this how the mayor plans to boast about the "success" of this plan? There are many questions that need to be answered to consider this plan to have a foundation.

At first glance the mayor's plan to improve productivity by reducing traffic with an expensive subway system may seem to be flawless. After all, who doesn't prefer less time spent in traffic? But the plan lacks reasoning and data to explain its basic premise. Will the citizens embrace the idea of choosing the system over the commodity of their own vehicles? Will the mayor address safety in this new transportation system? What will be the indication that worker productivity improved? As it stands the argument presents many flaws, and many questions need to be answered before this project is deemed appropriate.