Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s argument does not make a cogent case regarding the origin of the Palean basket. The implication that the lack of evidence available of Palean people traveling to the other side of the river and sharing their knowledge of basket creation with the people of Lithos means that the people from Lithos also share the creation of the baskets is flawed.

The author implies that because no boats have been found, the Palean people couldn’t have traveled to the other side of the river. As a result, they are not the only creators of the ornate baskets. There are many questions that arise from this simple assumption: Has there been absolutely no sign of any remnants of a boat found around the area? Could the boat have been destroyed? Has anyone checked the bottom of the lake? Are there any native people to the area aware of any of their stories that could illuminate this argument? The author clearly did not go into detail to explain the assumption that no boat has been found. Perhaps, if information was provided regarding the research that has been done, this point would stand, unfortunately that is not the case.

Furthermore, the author implies that the conditions we have today involving the river’s depth and broadness have been the same since the time the baskets were created. Again, no data is provided to support this basic idea. Current science is able to trace back physical conditions about the environment. It would be imperative to know what data has been provided as it relates to this idea. But the author’s lack of understanding of the pertinence of this information only serves to exacerbate the basic premise that his argument is flawed.

Lastly, no credit is given to the idea that humans, with or without a boat, could have managed to get to the other side of the river. Perhaps, an accident occurred and one person managed to get to the other side. Then that individual shared the idea of working on the baskets. I’m self-aware and understand my point lacks evidence, but this only proves my point to illustrate how simple it is for someone to connect dots that may very well have more nuanced explanations.

The author implies that the lack of boats seen mean that the baskets were developed on both sides of the river. While he doesn’t provide any evidence, aside from the idea that no boats have been found, there are many questions he has left unanswered. Could the boat be at the bottom of the river? Could there have been fluctuations in the depth of the river over time? Could one person have survived an adventure across the river and shared their knowledge? As it stands, the author’s argument is flawed and more data needs to be provided for his argument to be properly defended.