The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great

The author concludes that resources should be contributed in unmanned space flight instead of manned space flight in view of the cost and risk of sending human to the space. This is not a persuasive opinion as the author did not explained in details yet incomprehensive and misleading based on general assumptions. The author fails to mention other key factors which affect the cost and risk in unmanned space flight.

The argument assumes that the unmanned space flight such as space probes and satellite are less budget and reliable because it is not necessary to send human into space. Obviously, this is not true because such inventions which are well developed for the purpose to supplant human being role in space research are undoubtedly costly. It is extravagantly expensive to engage advanced computing technology and experienced professionals from different field in establishing unmanned aerial vehicle. Furthermore, space probes and satellite are not really reliable as human because they consolidate abundance of data blindly which could increase the risk of receiving false data. Rational expert with specific knowledge required in interpreting the raw data, omits any false data in order to bring useful meaning in the research. In fact, human, the person who program the unmanned space flight reveal that human are more intelligent and sagacious than impassive machine.

Additionally, successful in a series of unmanned space flight does not represent the larger group. Without clear data to prove that unmanned space flight is more competence than manned space flight, the author provide a weak example which hardly impressionable. Moreover, recent success in unmanned space flight did not implied that the manned space flight have many failure expedition in space research history. Probably, astronomer has been sending to space because of their irreplaceable knowledge and experience in the space exploration.

Even if the space probes and satellite are not pricey and safe as the manned space flight as the author believe, generalization of the way of cutting cost and risk by investing the resources in unmanned space flight is not logically sound. There are other pragmatic alternative approaches to reduce the cost such as encourage young nation and private industries to involve in astronomy sector in order to promote cost effectiveness and rapid thrive. For the purpose of decreasing the risk, more comprehensive simulation training allow astronomer to handle any situations in space with shrewd judge.

With all the flaws in the author's opinion, his or her suggestion considered as insubstantial. To present the idea effectively, not only robust data support that unmanned space flight is more capable than manned space flight, elaboration on the manned space flight's possible peril which can be prevent by unmanned space flight would be helpful as well. Additionally, if the author can provide evidence that there is no other alternative in reducing cost and risk of manned space flight would be very convincing.