The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

On the surface, the author presents a reasonable argument for investing future resources into unmanned space flight. He or she believes that manned space flight is costly and dangerous, and as a result of successful unmanned missions, future resources should be invested in unmanned space flight. However, this argument relies on several assumptions that, if proven unwarranted, cause the argument to fall apart.

First, the author writes about how manned space flight is more costly and dangerous than unmanned space flight. Unfortunately, the author fails to provide additional information to demonstrate how much more costly or in what terms manned missions may be more costly. It is not explicitely stated whether the author is referring to monetary costs or potential loss of life. Additional statistics would be useful to further evaluate this assumption. If shown that the financial cost of manned mission is double that of an unmanned mission, then perhaps the unmanned mission is more justifiable. However, if the manned mission only costs, say, ten percent more, and could lead to more useful research, then the manned mission may be more logical. Current NASA budget surpluses or deficits may be integral in this decision making as well.

Next, the author assumes that manned space flight is dangerous and may lead to loss of life. Additional data would be needed to back this up. One may think of examples like the Challenger explosion or the near-failure of Apollo 13 and conclude that manned space flight is too dangerous to ever justify. However, men and women are currently living safely on the International Space Station, demonstrating that human activities in space can be safe. If shown that scientists have learned from past mistakes and manned space flight is now much safer than it has been in the past, then the author's argument is weakened. However, if fatalities or near-fatalities have occurred in the recent past, then the author's conclusion is more valid.

The author also states that space probes and satellite have generated a significant amount of useful information. However, the author fails to compare or contrast the amount of information learned from unmanned versus manned missions in the past. The author seems to imply that unmanned missions produce sufficient information when compared to manned missions, but provides no additional support for this implication. In reality, if men being aboard a spacecraft allows much greater amounts of data to be collected or experimental procedures to be changed as needed, then manned space flight is more reasonable than unmanned space flight, and the author's argument is made invalid. If robots, however, can perform the same tasks and extract data the same way as a human would, then unmanned missions prove to be more reasonable, as the author believes.

All in all, the author's reasoning relies on several assumptions, namely that manned space flight is more expensive, dangerous, and not significantly more informative than unmanned missions. If any or all of these assumptions are shown to be untrue, then the argument falls apart, making manned space flight more attractive than unmanned space flight.