The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Space travel has always intrigued our species since time immemorial. Be it the wild yet rational beliefs of Galileo or the unfathomable Apollo mission of NASA or the very recently launched Mars mission of ISRO which turned out to be more economical than the movie Gravity.

The space is unbounded and has always caught our attention with more and more countries now wanting to enjoy a piece of space exploration themselves. The argument stated here extremely undermines the recent progress in the space safety of astronauts. Cases of astronaut casualties have been growing feeble by the day. In the recent past, there has been no major space casualty, thanks to the brilliant technology in place now.

So to say that manned space flights are extremely dangerous is not entirely correct in the first place and if we are to ever set up colonies on other planets, we cannot be intimated by the enormity of the space. We need to make friends with it, we need to discover ways to make it less inimical and more friendly for us.

Another assumption that the argument makes is that manned space flights are costly. While this holds true, the additional amount that would be incurred to have a man on the space flight would not be extravagant and it would certainly be worth it. This is because having a human stationed for a particular mission will be able to assess more information than a programmed robot who will only assess things that it has been asked to from the scientists sitting on planet Earth. This is a classic case of site analysis. If you want a proper background check of a particular site, you need to be physically present there and examine it yourself than by having a bunch of photos sent to you that will help you assess it.

In case of a programming mistake or a technical failure, an unmanned space flight might just stop working at all, making the whole mission redundant whereas if there is an experienced astronaut in the space flight, there is a high amount of chance that he would solve the issue by either coordinating with the scientists on Earth or by the knowledge he has acquired throughout his years of studying the space. This will reduce the costs exponentially by not having to build another space flight and will also save us a lot of time.

The argument also states that a 'great deal' of information can be gathered which might sound like a good thing but as the saying goes, "Half knowledge is more dangerous than none at all." A great deal of information might be misleading if that information does not depict the whole picture and tells you only half the story. This might prove detrimental for missions whose basis depends on the findings of the information extracted by this space flight.

Hence, I strongly believe that if there is a way forward in space exploration it should be done with a team of astronauts on board as these astronauts along with the group of scientists on ground together will be the perfect judge of how to go about with the space flight and how to optimize the findings obtained by it.