the following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources unmanned space flight."

The argument stating that investment should be focused on unmanned space flight is not totally convincing since it ignores certain crutial assumptions.

First, it is provided that a good amount of information was gathered during unmanned space flight. Here, there is an important assumption that the same amount of information would have been gathered if that same space flight was manned. However, this was not stated in the passage. That's why, if manned space flights would gather more information compared to the unmanned ones, the argument would be greatly weakened.

Second, the argument adresses that manned space flight are costly, that's why no investment should take place in this type of filghts. However, this depends on an important assumption that unmanned space flight aren't as costly. This type of flight would require higher technological tools since no human would be present in space to control the flight, so it might be as costly as the manned space flight. If so, the argument would be weakened.

Finally, it was stated that manned space flight should be avoided because there are dangerous. Here, the assumption is that unmanned space flight should replace them because they are less dangerous and risky. However, this type of space flight could be very dangerous because in the absence of humans, technological errors might take place. If so, newly developed tools in space probes and satellites would be out of control, and the risk of explosion, failure, crash with the earth would increase. That's how, unmanned space flight could be as dangerous as the manned ones or even riskier, weakening the argument.

In conclusion, because of the previously mentionned assumptions, the argument stated in the passage might not be convincing and more evidence would have strengthened it more. For instance, if it was stated that both types of flights resulted in the same amount of information with less cost attributed to the unmanned flights, this would have defended the argument. Additionally, if some statistics were mentioned about the level of danger concerning both types of flight in terms of their success, and if manned space flights were shown to be less dangerous and as successful as manned space flights, the argument would be stronger.