The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

" Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs

offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year,

Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for

dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place

via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana

University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased.

Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana

University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like

those at Omni."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered

in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based

are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help

to evaluate the prediction.

It might appear logical, at first glance, to agree with the president's suggestion that the Humana University should offer online degree programs like that in the Omni University. However, there are several questions must be answered before we could evaluate the effectiveness of this prediction.

In the first place, we should ask whether the decrease in expenditures in the Omni University is due to the fact that now they offer online programs. Though the president said that offering online courses may account for the decrease in expence, we do not know it for sure. There are many other possible explanations. For example, maybe there are many new accomondations near the campus of Omni University which have finished construction last year and thus many new apartments became available to students in the Omni University. These houses may be cheaper than those on campus. Therefore students prefer to live off campus. Then, few students choose to live in the University's dormitory and the expence for dormitory decreased. If this is the answer to the previous question, simply citing the online program will not be useful in solving our University's budget problem.

In the second place, we should ask why the enrollment of our University fail to grow? The president suggests that it might because many students are now taking online programs offered at the Omni University. Nevertheless, it might not be true. Two things happening together does not necessarily suggests that one thing is the reason for the other. It is entirely possible that there exist some other factors that affect them. In our case, we may doubt that maybe there are other factors, such as the population of young in the local area have decreased. Therefore the enrollment for the Humana University have failed to grow as the enrollment is largely correlated with the local population size. The reason why more people are enrolled in the online program in Omni University might because they are older people who wish to learn some extra curriculums during their spare time. If this is the case, the individuals who enroll in the online courses are not those who tend to be enrolled in our University programs. The targeting students are not the same. Then, following the Omni University by starting offering online program may not helpful, as even if we open the courses, the enrollment will probably not increase.

Enen if the first two questions are answered and suggesting that it is the online programs that contributed to the decrease in the dormitory cost and led to a decrease in the enrollment of our University. Simply citing the Omni University's success may not suitable. We need to ask questions about the cost of offering online courses here in our campus. The cost of that in the Omni University might be lower because they havd already owned many equipments for it but we do not. Then, if we invent a lot of money on offering the program, the benefit might not be able to overweight the cost. Then, it will not be helpful to deal with the budget problem.

Before the above questions being answered, we cannot evaluate the effectiveness of the president's suggestion.