The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of sidewalk rage similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The resul

The argument proposes a solution to increase road safety for sidewalk walkers while noble, fails to provide a well thought solution that is backed up by science or data.

First, the argument suggests that there has been increase in a phenomenon called 'sidewalk rage' which is described as road rage but for those who walk the sidewalks and point the effects caused by this phenomenon towards assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. It also states that use of cell phone is the cause and thus proposes a ban of using cell phones while walking. However, there is no evidence or studies suggesting that cell phones were the primary instigator to assaults and other phenomenon. The use of cell phone by can also be attributed to either relax by listening to music, audiobooks etc. or converse their family or loved ones, neither of which cause 'sidewalk rage' as they indicate the opposite effect - peacefulness or calmness.

Sidewalkers may be causing an obstruction to normal traffic, this could only occur if the sidewalk facilities are not accessible or poorly constructed such that they become unusable. Causes leading to assault and property damage can be related to individual and whatever occupies their mind and cell phone may only play a minor factor in such scenarios as it might be the ingredient that set the individual's mindset into a downward spiral. However, such cases are very rare and all events of sidewalk rage cannot be the same. Roadrage occurs primarily due to the mind being preoccupied with handling multiple things at once such as driving the car, understanding the patterns of the car ahead and behind - thus any small incident that causes momentary distraction may overload the brain capacity and thus resulting in a vehement outcry.

The argument also states that children are especially vulnerable, which this is true as they become preoccupied with the mobile easily and lose sight of their surroundings. However, children given a mobile are usually accompanied by the parents or an adult and any obstructions caused by the children is in majority of the cases due to negligence of the adult.

Thirdly, the argument states that middletown passed a ban for the same and received no complaints and sidewalk crime has reduced. However, there is no existing studies or data provided that backs up the fact that all three events are interlinked. The complaints may not have been recorded because people were lethargic and disinterested in the ban passed. There also is no indication that the ban was enforced or publicised by the authorities. Sidwalk crime rates may have gone down drastically due to better sidewalk facilities in place or any other number of factors.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide a justified reasoning to propose and enforce the ban of cellphone in a number of ways. All reasonings provided are circumstantial and arbitrary, thus failing to provide a convincing argument.