The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The city council of Centerville has decided to ban usage of cell phones on the sidewalks in order to tackle the problem of 'sidewalk rage'. Their decision is based on certain unsaid assumptions and experience of Middletown. But we need to take a closer look on the assumptions on which this decision is based.

First, are Centerville and Middletown's problems similar in all respects? Is the population of both the cities similar in all respects? Maybe in case of Middletown, the problems on the sidewalks are maybe due to usage of cell phones but the reason may not be same for Centerville. Maybe its the case that Centerville's sidewalks problems majorly arise from narrow sidewalks rather than using cell phones on sidewalks. Thus, we cannot blindly compare both the cities unless we know all the information about their population and the reason for incidents on the sidewalk.

Second, can we conclude that incidents like assaults, disruptions and property damage arise from using cell phones for texting on the sidewalks? It maybe possible that these incidents happen in Centerville due to poor economic condition of the city which has made its residents angrier and annoyed. It is also possible that the population of Centerville is less educated and less civilized and thus frequently engages in sidewalk rage incidents. Hence, we need more information on the population of the Centerville to make an informed decision about the reasons of sidewalk incidents.

Third, does banning cell phones have any effect on the assumption that small children will then easily be seen by pedestrians? We need to know whether short height of small children has any effect on sidewalk incidents or not. Also, it maybe possible that even after banning cell phones the short children may still not be visible to tall pedestrians and thus may have no effect on improving the traffic on the sidewalks. This assumption made by city council thus is clearly flawed as banning cell phones will not increase the height of the children and make them easily visible.

Thus, from the above three points we can clearly see that the decision taken by city council to ban cell phone usage on sidewalks is flawed. We need more information about the population of Centerville and the cause of incidents on the sidewalk before we can come to a conclusion. Hence, more supporting evidence is needed which will help us to make a better decision.