The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell Two years ago the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel During the past two years tourism in Ocean View has increased new busines

In the memo, the author has suggested to build a golf course and resort hotel as a way to improve Hopewell's economy. The author has come to such a conclusion based on the success of hotel and golf course in the nearby town of Ocean View and the increase in tourism in the town of Ocean View. While the claim drawn might ultimately prove valid, the prompt as it stands is based on several assumptions that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the tourism in Hopewell has also increased similar to that of Ocean View. Perhaps Ocean View is located near the coastal regions because of which tourism is constanly growing in Ocean View, whereas Hopewell may not provide tourist with the same geographic advantages that Ocean View provides. It is possible that visitors are visiting Ocean View for its cultural sites and not for newly built municipal golf course and resort hotel. If the above scenarios are true than the argument to built hotel and golf course in Hopewell does not hold water.

Second of all, there can be other reasons for the increase in tax revenues collected in Ocean View. Perhaps the number of people resiting in Ocean View are increasing and the rise in tax revenues is simply due to the property tax collected from the new householders in the town and it has nothing to do with tourism boost in the town of Ocean View. There is a possibility that Ocean View has lots of fallow land and many farmers have gained interest in purchasing these lands and paid the tax associated to the land, which in turned has increased in the tax revenues by a significant amount. If the above cases hold merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, the author presumes that there is absence of golf course and resort hotel in Hopewell. It is possible that Hopewell has numerous golf courses and resort hotel but is lacking in other facilities that are provided in Ocean View. For example, Ocean View may have different kinds of spa and massage parlour which has gained public attention. Thus constructing golf course and hotel similar to Ocean View will not be frutiful for a boost in tourism as well as to increase the overall tax revenue in Hopewell. If the above cases prove true then the argument is not overly persuasive.

In conclusion, while the author might have not considered the given situtation regarding building of resort and golf course for boost in Hopewell's economy in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reason to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistic. More evidence for the stated assumptions needs to be provided by the author to make the given argument stronger.