Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali lsland

but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such real-

1stic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads

and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds

of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This dis-

covery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in

style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient

Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict

that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction.

The argument concludes that the the value of life-size sculptures will decrease and the value of miniatures will increase. The author has come to this conclusion on the evidence that molds of human heads and hands were found on Kali and comparatively less sculpting tools are found. The argument as it stands does not hold water, and additional questions need to be answered to make the argument stronger.

Firstly, were molds the only tools used to make the life-size sculptures? Perhaps other tools in addition to molds were used to give the realistic precision observed. Maybe the reason for the acute display of these statues is the result of an talented artist and the molds had nothing to do with the accurateness of the statues. Since the answer for the above question is not answered the argument rests on flaws and assumptions and more information is required to conclude that the value of tools will increase whereas the value of sculptures will decrease.

Secondly, is the searching for tools done in various different location? It is possible that the tools used to make the statues were kept in a safe location like a locker or room of statue artist. Maybe the search for tools is not done in the location of the artist room or locker where the tools are kept in abundant and ample amount. This maybe probably the reason why less number of tools are found. On the other hand it is possible that the mold were kept near the statue making place as they can be heavy, and shifting their places can be a tedious task and hence they are found in glut near the statue. So we cannot say that their presence in abundant number can be a cause to decrease in sculptures value. It is possible that the molds are actually less in number than the tools since the tools are yet to be extracted.

Lastly, is there any study done about the material of the tools? Perhaps the tools is made of decomposable material and hence it got decomposed overtime and this may be the reason that they are not easily found in numbers. We cannot say that until research is done. It can be the case that the molds are made of metals and hence they are found as they were in the past and the tools are made of wood and hence got decomposed over the years, we simply do not have an insight regarding them and hence coming to conclusion that their prices will fluctuate is not appropriate.

Although the author may not be evaluating the given situation in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written-off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistic. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.