The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above recommendation suggests that Monarch Books open a cafe in its store.This has been supported by some facts and by comparing the bookstore with another bookstore in its vicinity.But, this argument is based on various assumptions. Thus, on the first glance this argument seems convincing and valid but actually, on a closer inspection, minuscule details can be uncovered which make this statement weak and baseless.

Above argument recommends that there should be a cafe in the store premises because that would lead to attraction of more customers.But, this is just an assumption.There has been nowhere stated that book readers like to have cafes associated with the bookstores.If, there were evidence that a cafe does indeed help with the sales of books, then this argument could hold some relevance.

Another major flaw in the argument is that the board members have suggested replacing the children’s books section with the cafe.But this can actually harm the current customer base of the store.The given conclusion is based on an assumption that the recent national census, which indicates a decline in population under 10; will lead to decrease in number of books being bought for children.This assumption is highly flawed because a country level survey may not hold true for a particular region.More information regarding the statistics is required, like, the current population statistics of that particular area,sales percent of children books in the past years,etc.

Also, as stated earlier, the store is famous for the diverse collection of books.But this assumption fails to take into account that the customers of the store could be children or parents of children.Hence, completely removing a genre of books might hamper their popularity as well as sales.

Lastly, an example of Regal books has been given but what if this recent change leads to decrease in sales?A decision can be made only if questions about its success can be answered.Thus, the recommendation is unconvincing since it is based on assumptions and further detail relating to the above facts required before we deem it relevant and acceptable.