The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books released a recommendation to open a café as part of the bookstore. The executives claim that opening a café will attract more customers and gain an edge over their competitor Regal Books. To properly assess the board of director’s claim, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, do bookstores with a newly added café have shown an increase in the customer base? Or does the addition of a café have a negligible impact on the attraction of customers. For instance, customers may be indifferent on if a bookstore contains a café within the establishment when deciding which bookstore to visit. To determine if a café would bolster the customer base, a poll of the local community could be delivered with the primary purpose to receive feedback on the addition of the café. If a large number of locals indicate that a café addition impacts their shopping decision, this would bolster the board of director’s claim.

Secondly, the board argues that removing the children’s book section is likely to become less popular due the national census indicating a decrease in people under ten years of age. However, the national census does not necessarily have a direct correlation with Monarch Book’s market. Perhaps the children’s section records one of the highest sales of the different sections at Monarch Books. If that is the case, removing the children’s section would be detrimental to Monarch Book’s sales as well as customer base. Rather than relying on the national census to dictate which section would be removed, Monarch Books needs to look at the sales recorded in each section. If the children’s section has the lowest sales, the board of director’s claim would be confirmed, and the children section should be removed to support the new café.

Lastly, information about the similarities and differences between Monarch Books and Regal Books needs to be gathered. Monarch Books is known for the wide selection of books that cover a multitude of subjects. Is the same true for Regal Books? Or is Regal Books serve a more niche market compared to Monarch Books. If the two bookstores serve different markets, Monarch Books should not be concerned that Regal Books recently established their café as the two target markets are likely different. In order to gather information on the target market for Regal Books, information needs to be gathered on the products that are sold in order to see if Regal Books is a direct competitor to Monarch Books.

As the board of director’s argument currently stands, it is flawed. To strengthen their argument, information needs to be gathered on the community’s interest in a café, the sales on the children’s section, and the target markets of Monarch Books and Regal Books.