The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is unlikely that this recommendation would have a predicted result. It is true that Regal Books, which recently opened its café, is able to attract more customers since its open; the same cannot be predicted in case of Monarch Books.

The argument is clearly deficient and fails to cover many aspects about its success. First, nothing about the Regal bookstore is clear except that it has its own café. We don’t know the collection of books in both the stores. Regal stores may or may not have many genre books, hence it was not able to attract as many customers as it did after the open of the café.

Second, the author guesses that the children’s section may become less popular. This is absurd because it’s not something to be predicted. Children maybe are one of the important customers for monarch. So eliminating such a section may not bring about the desired result.

Since it's mentioned that Monarch is known for its eclectic range of books on different subjects, eliminating an entire section will affect its name.

Also the location of the bookstore is indispensable. Regal books may be in such a location where there are no eateries and so it was able to attract customers by opening its café. It cannot be same in case of Monarch. Monarch maybe located in downtown where eateries are apparent.

Hence this argument fails to provide necessary facts and hence it is unlikely to have the predicted result.