The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument states that acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of employees to take the easy read course. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, graduates have better promotion and faster reading speed; second, the cost is relatively low compared to the benefit. Tough the issue has its merit, due to lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the fact that one graduate of the courses was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours is not necessarily the gain from easy read course. what if he just went through and skimmed the materials quickly instead of deliberation during the reading? what if that person could read that report within two hours even before the course? The author fails to provide us with the information of the reading speed before and after the course, we are unable to draw any conclusion. Similarly, the passage indicates that one graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company, therefore advocating the benefit of easy reading course. The claim, however, is ungrounded. The author overlooks other possibilities leading to the promotion. For example, the one is responsible and has strong vocational skills, including writing, communication and leadership skills. it is his skills and quality, instead of fast reading speed, that contributes to his/her higher position in the company.

In addition, the aforementioned cases are not representative. The author only offers two particular graduates. even though both of them benefit from the reading course, we cannot readily suggest that easy read course is suitable for all employees. it is possible that some people already developed their own reading systems over the past several years, then it might be harmful when we enforce them to accept new ones through the course. many employees, reluctant to attend the course, might not pay attention, so that taking such course just a waste time. The author also concludes that the faster you read, the more information you are going to get. While I do concede the fact makes sense, but whether all people in the company would gain from more information? I doubt that sometimes overwhelming information perhaps leads to wrong direction and hence decrease the work efficiency.

Last but not least, the author assumes that the benefit got from the reading course exceeds the cost. The easy read course costs $500 for each person, many employees would be not willing to pay so much. if the company pay for the courses for all staff, the company might be facing financial crisis or sever deficit when there are lots of members in the company. Furthermore, the course takes three weeks in Spruce City. The author fails to consider the negative impact caused by absence of individuals. if employees take this course in turn, then there are always vacancies, which hampers the cooperation between workers and departments. The company would face the risk of declining output and it is unjustified that the benefit can be greater than the cost. The lifelong subscription newsletter does not necessarily provide the useful information, as it can only consist of countless advertisement.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion is based on several questionable assumptions that weaken the credibility of the argument. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is advised to add the detailed information as follows: first, almost all graduates from the reading course acquire sophisticated reading skills and get the better job or higher position in the company; second, faster reading speed is essential to all employees in acme company; third, the cost of reading course can be overshadowed by the benefit obtained under any condition and it has no negative effect on the daily operation of acme.