The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of

Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read

Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was

able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant

manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read,

the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost

Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits.

Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the

Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our

employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure

to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In this argument, the personnel director of Acme Publishing Company proposes that all of their employees should take reading course offered by Easy Read. To support this conclusion, the director cites other companies that have their employees take the course and two accomplished graduates as examples, as well as points out that the course is cost-effective, as it takes a small price but can bring relatively great advantages to the company. However, these all constitute a problematic and vulnerable support for the author’s recommendation.

First of all, the mere fact that many other companies benefited greatly from the course does not necessarily mean that Acme will benefit in the same way. Perhaps the type of reading on which the course focuses is not the type in which Acme Publishing employees often engage at work, since the editors often need to scrutinize a passage to correct minor errors rather than take a quick look at it. Also, Acme employees are likely to be excellent readers already, as they have abundant experience of editing, and therefore might gain far less from the course than employees of other types of companies.

Secondly, the two individual success stories are not able to justify the effectiveness of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. But they can be the exceptions and the director unfairly assume that their accomplishments can be attributed to the course. One graduate of the course could read a 500-page report in only two hours. It is possible that the employee is an outstanding speed-reader, weather taking the course or not. Besides, the quick promotion of another graduate might be due to his abilities of communication, team building, persuasive techniques, etc., any of which can explain that achievement.

Finally, it is unwarranted that the benefits of the course will outweigh its costs. Even though the course only cost $500 per person, Acme Publishing might be of large scale, e.g. 10000 employees, which can put a heavy burden of the company’s budget. In addition, while all of Acme’s employees taking the 3-week course, Acme’s productivity might decline significantly. This decline, along with the fee for the course, might notably outweigh the course’s potential benefits. Without a complete cost-benefit analysis, the director cannot guarantee the profitable prospect of his recommendation.

In sum, the director fails to substantiate his proposal that all employees in Acme Publishing should take the Easy Read course. To bolster his recommendation, he must first provide evidence that employees with similar reading skills as those that Acme employees possess have benefited significantly from such course, a survey of other publishing company might be useful for this purpose. Other specific information that would be help me to better assess the argument includes the number of Acme’s employees and the hours the course involved.