The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This newsletter proposes that consumption of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil could prevent people from getting cold and lower the absenteeism in schools and workplaces. It makes a report that in East Maria people go to hospital only once or twice to remedy colds after having a high level of fish consumption, and getting colds is the most given reason of absenteeism. While in my opinion, unless the author provides more convincing evidence to bolster the argument, it does not hold water.

The newsletter credits the low-frequency of treating colds to the high consumption of fish in East Meria, it suggests that West Maria will have the same effectiveness to recommend the use of nutritional supplement derived from fish oil. Unfortunately, some more evidence should be addressed on whether the two cities are indeed comparable or not. If the weather condition in East Maria is warmer and moister than the West Maria, it will make people less likely to catch a cold, the effects of fish consumption in cold catching will be weakened. Moreover, some other factors may be different from the two cities which will influence the resistance of getting cold, for instance, the atmosphere of doing sports in a community may influence the frequency of doing exercise among the citizens; the intensity of population may lead to different ability and possibility of cold spread. More evidence should be given to convince that fish consumption is the core factor which could prevent getting cold. Regardless of the issue concerning whether the conditions of West Maria liken to East Maria or not, it could not blindly replicate others served as a model.

The newsletter states briefly the most frequently given reason for absences in schools and workplaces is getting colds, and indicates that preventing colds could reduce the absenteeism. However, the author should provide more evidence to ensure getting colds is the only and real reason for absences, but not others. A student may falsely claims that he get a cold and wants to get the application to leave school, but his true purpose is playing computer games in the cybercafe; or a staff may lies that he has a cold in order to get a permission of absence to date with his girlfriend. In these cases, the causality between getting colds and absenteeism will be weakened. For powerfully persuading people to believe that getting colds is the true and only reason of absences in schools and workplaces, the Public Health Council must lend a survey researched by an objective institution including accuracy and truth of the answers.

Since the high consumption of fish in East Maria has a relationship with the decrease in cold getting, the author predicts the consumption of a supplement derived from fish oil will also prevent colds. However, the author doesn’t afford sufficient testimonies to strengthen the ingredient that really prevents colds in the body of fish is the fish oil. If it is the ingredient in the bones or the flesh has the effect of preventing colds, or several ingredients among fish body work together to prevent colds, or the ingredient could only take effect after being heated, the author’s statement will be weakened. Accordingly, to strengthen the argument, the Public Health Council has to testify it is the ingredient in the fish oil, as the only effective ingredient, could have the same result of eating whole fish.

To sum up, the newsletter’s suggestion to recommend the daily use of a supplement derived from fish oil as a mean to avoid colds and absenteeism remains to be discussed. It is highly recommended to provide more evidence which could support and strengthen the recommendation better.