The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company affirms that the only way to increase the attendence to the movies they produce is to allocate a greater share of its budget to reaching the public through advertising. The memo justifies this argument saying that fewer people attended their movies during the past year. Furthermore, the argument states that even though their movies are having a greater percentage of positive reviews, the content of these reviews is nor reaching enough viewers. The arguments given by the advertising director are somehow logic, but they are not supported by any data.

Firstly, the memo states that the recent report from the marketing department about last year's number of viewers is lower than any other year. One question that must be asked is when the company decided to start doing these reports about viewership, because in case they started doing them just a few years ago, the low number of viewers may not mean such as bad results. In relation to this, we do not know either whether the results from previous years were higher by a wide difference or just by some hundreds of viewers. Furthermore, the number of attendees to the movies can be also low because the number of movies has been also low. The memo does not offer us clear data about the number of attendees or movies.

It is also unclear the data regarding the reviews. The advertising director states that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased during last year. But there is no data at all regarding the negative reviews. It is possible then that the number of negative reviews also increased during last year. When someone wants to check on movie reviews, they do not only check the good reviews, but also check the number and content of the negative ones.

Moreover, the budget allocation towards advertising can also be a failure, as the memo does not give any reasonable data or explanation about the expected success of this strategy. Maybe the problem of Super Screen Movie is nor their marketing/advertising campaign, but it can be a decrease on the quality of the movies. Or even the cost of attending the cinema. It is not explained in the memo the fact that normally every year the cost of services increase, and the movie theater can be one of them.

In conclusion, the advertising should have answered these questions before giving a solution that requires allocating money from other, maybe more important, departments or projects.