The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The are a number of questions which are needed to be answered so that we can reach to a conclusion about the decision of Super Screen Movie Production Company, to spend a greater budget on advertising.

First we can discuss about the report from the marketing department. According to the report fewer people attended the Super screen produced movies last year. But what was the exact decline in terms of numbers. And if the percentage of positive reviews have increased then the exact numbers are required for this as well. Only then this data could contribute to making any decision about budget for advertisements. Other than that information is needed about, if the decline in viewership is for the Super Screen Movies only or this decline has been seen with the viewership of other Movie companies also. There could be new source of entertainment for the public or maybe the economy is going through a bad phase. So, if information about these factors is also added in the report then a more informed decision could be taken.

Secondly, we need data for the funds being spent in advertisements currently. How that budget is being used and how that budget is related to the viewership. If in the past an increase in advertising budget has directly resulted in increased audience then it can be a good idea to invest in advertising more. But a data is needed this relation between the viewership and budget.