The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There are number of unstated assumptions in this argument and a lot more data is needed to make any conclusion.

Starting with the statement that colleges enrolment will be doubled in 50 years, based on the current trends. The time period which is being taken into consideration is huge. How anybody can claim that the current trend will keep following the existing pattern for next 50 years. So we can not claim anything for long future because of the uncertainties associated with it. But we can take some think of near future like 5 years, do we need new housing for students or not according to the current trend. But for that also the data for number of existing students, number of housing apartments and expected numbers of enrolments is needed.

Secondly it has been mentioned that the average rent for an apartment in the town has increased. But what is that exact increase in numbers. Does it makes living in apartments in the town expansive as compared to living in housing facility in the college. So the comparison between the cost of living in apartments in the town and housing in the college, to influence the decision of making new housings.

At last it is stated that new dormitories will make future students interested in enrolling to Buckingham college. This statement looks flawed, as the students will be looking at the more important factors like faculty, research, courses, labs and infrastructure, during his enrolment. Yes students need a nice place to stay in the college campus but that can not be the primary motivator for them to join a college.

In conclusion, i think to reach to any decision of making new dormitories, the director of the student housing should make these assumptions clear and should collect more data as discussed.