The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given arguments somewhat tries to present a view from just a single standpoint and without considering any numbers or percentages into account. It tries to provide insufficient information and then just presents a conclusion based on some vague information instead of actually finding out the root cause.

The first sentence of the memo specifies the number of people attended movies produced by Super Screen. It fails to provide any insight on percentages or charts comparing the number of people this year to previous years. Next sentence specifies that number of positive reviews increased even though the number of people were less. It completely obscures the given argument without comparing number of people with number of reviews. Might be possible that last year the number of people were more and number of reviews were less or negative and hence, people were less hopeful this year to attend movies produced by the same production company.

Director, in the above argument tries to criticize public's awareness instead of having any insights within his company for the cause of such a loss. Director mentions that movies produced by his company are of good qualities, irrespective of any reviews or ratings, just based on some vague understanding. It might be possible that the given production company do not produce movies that attract people as some other production companies do. Hence, it would be completely vague to link public's awareness to the success of the production company.

The last sentence specifies that company must allocate greater share of budget next year to its advertising. It fails to provide any specific amount or total budget. Also, there might be some other factors which are contributing towards decline of people attending the movies apart from marketing. It might also be an issue if the company spends more on advertising and returns from such an investment is low which might ultimately cost the production company an huge blow. Hence, the company must consider all the factors before taking any important decision for its future success.

Therefore, the given argument needs to be much more clear and provide multiple insight instead of just being dependent on a single factor for it to be successful. Although, the given reason might be one of the factor but still more information is necessary to prove it to be the only standing factor for decline in company's success.