The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe."A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our pro

In the memo, the author argues that a new jazz club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. While, at first glance, this author's argument may seem convincing; however, several lacunae and absence of solid evidence will make the proposal dubious.

First, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the claim that the C-Note, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, would have the local market all to itself. The already mentioned reason of this expectation is that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. However, this distance may not be substantial for jazz maniacs. Even if a jazz club might be farther away than 65 miles, those who love jazz music would go to the well-equipped jazz club. Only based on distance, it could not be guaranteed that a new jazz club in Monroe would have no rival in locality.

Second, it is plausible to think that if jazz is extremely popular in Monroe, a new jazz club would be successful. However, the author does not present relevant and cogent evidence about the high popularity of jazz in that region. 100,000 attendants of Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer may not be a considerable number, and there no evidence that all of the attendants were of Monroe residents. If most of the attendants came from other regions, it could not be said that jazz is popular in Monroe. Moreover, the author's statement that several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe is also dubious. The mere residence of famous jazz musicians in that reason does not directly indicate the success of the proposed new jazz club. They are probably living in Monroe because they want to stay away from their works. In that case, they would not work on a jazz club near their homes. Concerning the highest-rated radio program in Monroe, the author should present specific data. Even if the radio program is highest at 7 P.M, among whole radio programs, that program may be of lowest ones. Regarding these three points upon the popularity of jazz in Monroe, the author needs to add more sound statistics and data.

Lastly, the author evokes a study to reinforce his/her claim. However, this study was conducted on a nationwide scale, and this memo is written as a part of an application for a small-business loan. Therefore, the nationwide study is not representative for investment in a relatively small region like Monroe.