The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. It is clear that the C Note cannot help but make money."

The author suggests that establishing a new jazz club called C-Note would benefit the local market and become a profitable enterprise. The argument is plagued by a number of skewed assumptions.

An assumption here is that the proposed new jazz club is 65 miles away from Monroe, then the it would gain the local market all. it is true if all local people are lazy and love jazz. For example, they like jazz music and want to go to a jazz club, but they will consider mostly the distance getting there. if a local jazz club is built, they will choose nearest jazz club rather than take hours driving to Monroe. Yet it could be a different story on the case that the assumption is unwarranted. For example, if local residents are eager to see the most famous musicians in Monroe, and all of them are the fans of that musician, so they prefer to spend hours driving to Monroe jazz club instead of local one. The writer is essential to cope with the assumption to make the argument more persuasive.

Additionally, the another assumption is that because jazz is extremely popular in Monroe, it would be the same passionate in a place 65 miles away. it could be certainly right under that condition that not only Monroe, but also whole nation people are craze for jazz music. No matter where people live, they love jazz music. Nevertheless, it would be totally disparate if there is another habit surpassing jazz music in a place 65 miles away from Monroe. For example, people living in anywhere except Monroe, likes watching soccer games more than jazz music and they tend to spend more money watching soccer games. The argument is not convincing based on the problematic assumption, thus the author has to address the assumptions mentioned above.

Furthermore, the author also states that reporting data shows typical jazz fan spending much money on jazz entertainment, under this assumption, it is predicted that C note makes profit. The assumption unstated plays an crucial role. because there is no comparable results between jazz music and other habits, we have no idea about the budget ranking on jazz for fans. it is certainly true if jazz is undoubted the first budget ranking among all activities that these people take part in. However, if these jazz fan actually spend much more money on NBA than music, then the sport club would be better choice than jazz club. thus, the author is barely to claim effectively if the assumption is not addressed well.

Unless the author could address the assumptions mentioned above, it is not cogent to conclude that the profit results would be expected by opening a new jazz club far away from Monroe.