GRE Argument The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station quot Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period mo

This argument hinges on many asumptions. First of all, it assumes that complaints which have been received are a fair representation of the general population which watches the late-night news programs. It might be the case that a particular segment of the society does not like the reduction in coverage of weather and local news. To counter this, a proper survey with proper random sample of viewers should be taken and the survey should be conducted by an unbiased agency. Secondly the complaints does not necessarily equate to decline in viewership. It might be the case that more coverage of national news bring in a whole newer set of audiences thereby compensating the complaining viewers and in fact it might even result in an increased viewership.

Also the argument hinges on the fact that advertisers are cancelling their contracts with the news channels because of reduction in time of local news and weather news. There can be many other reasons for their cancellation, including many internal and external factors factors like their marketing budget is reduced, some of the companies going bankrupt, the market is declining, the companies focusing their attention on other forms of social outreach, or shifting their attention to some other areas etc. Also these companies might have some biased understanding that reduction in local news and weather news time leads to decline in viewership. To counter this, a market analysis of these companies' buyers and theer viewership of the late night news show can be conducted by some independent agency.

There can also be the case that local agencies might themselves be putting in those negative complaints as part of their own propaganda. It might be the case that these local agencies might be influencing the local events and they want that to be highlighted. For example, an increase in burglary will affect the sales of the home security solutions business and hence they might be involved in some burglary propaganda to boost up their sales. If the news show highlight the incidents of increase in local burglary, then the company is in indirectly benefited without any direct advertising.

The argument also assumes that reduction in local and weather news will lead to further loss in company's advertising clients and revenues. That might not be the case since the loss in number of clients is not directly linear with the passage of time. It might be the case that those clients who have their own motives might have left and others won't. Also more emphasis on the national news might bring on a whole set of new clients and whole set of new viewership which may further lead to an increase in advertising revenues.

Thus without the proper resolution and analysis of the above points it is not prudent to come to the cconclusion given in the argument. A proper survey regarding all the points and proper evidence is the only way