GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, far

While there may be good intentions of the government to take care of vitamin deficiency in Tagus by promoting a new breed of millet, but it is unlikely that it will lead to any significant improvement.

Government is just assuming that farmers will start farming of new breed as they get subsidy. Will they do it definitely?What is the motivation for them to grow a new breed? Why will they leave traditional crop as they are more used to it? It might be possible that farmers don't have initial money to buy the costly seeds eventhough they receive subsidy afterwards.

Even if farmers are willing to grow new seeds, What's the arrangement for transition in terms of proper training. Does this new breed require new style of farming or any extra care? Every crop has different requirements. Who will tell these things to farmers? There must be a proper training facilities provided.

Suppose that farmers start growing this new breed, then what's the guarantee that people will replace their traditional food with this new one? It depends upon their tastes also. What if they are not aware and cautious with their health? It's unlikely that people do not have any other source of Vitamin A. It might be the case that people are just negligent about their health. They might be eating junk and not health conscious. It might be that case that government requires a mass campaign for health awareness than a costly breed of millet.

Since it will be a new crop, is it tested fully for its side effects? Things which give too much benefits should always be doubted first and should be checked rigorously. Has the government ensured proper testing? Does the government have any other motive than health behind this crop? This new crop's seeds might be manufactured by some company closely associated with ruling government. Government needs to come forward with a proper testing report and its proper intentions to prove credibility of crop.

Even if they are willing to adopt new food, what's will be the cost of new food? Will it be expensive or affordable? Its seeds are already costly so there are chances that food might be costly too. Government needs to present proper price tags so that people can make an informed decision.

It is beyond doubt that people require Vitamin A to improve their health. This new breed might be beneficial too but government needs to answer above questions and justify its position before accepting this new breed. Just accepting a new breed without its pros and cons might be dangerous and its proper evaluation needs to be done.