Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment Within this group of people 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots were not wearing

In the memo, the author concludes that since 75 percent of the people who were injured in roller-skating accidents did not use any protective gear or reflective equipment, investment in high-quality protective clothes and reflective equipment will decrease the risk of being extremely injured in accidents for roller-skater. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the mentioned statistics are drawn from the injured people in only one hospital. Maybe that hospital is located in the inner city where most people do not pay attention to protective stuff. Not only the roller-skater but also the bikers may usually not use protective things in these areas since they think they are seemed bolder in the eye of other people if they do not use these stuff. It is possible that if the same survey were conducted in the other areas of the city, the result would be the opposite. If this scenario has merit, the author's assertion that based on the statistics at this hospital, more investment in better quality protective equipment results in fewer injured people is significantly hampered.

Secondly, producing better quality protective equipment does not persuade people to use them who are already reluctant to do so. Perhaps, it is better to compel roller-skaters to use protective equipment in another way. For example, the police can issue tickets to those people who do not use defensive stuff. Therefore, producing higher-quality equipment does not warranty that people will use them. The writer's argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, people may not wear protective equipment due to their high cost. So, producing higher-quality equipment leads to higher prices of this equipment, and even more people might become hesitant to buy those stuff and use them. It is possible that if the government allocates some money to this portion and offers free equipment to all roller-skaters, more people will wear them. If it is true that people's reluctancy toward wearing protective gear is due to its high price, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases substantially.

To sum up, it is possible that investment in producing high-quality protective equipment results in fewer injured roller-skaters. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three groundless assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author has to provide additional evidence on three fronts: the result of the same survey that is conducted on other hospitals throughout the city, whether offering higher-quality equipment is adequate to encourage people to use them, and the impact of the price of protective gear on people's resistance toward buying them.