Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after rollerskating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the prompt tries to bolster his argument in favour of investing in high grade protective equipment for rollerskaters by claiming that hospital statistics indicate that 75% of the people reporting to the emergency room post an accident either in the streets or parking lots are devoid of protective gear or reflecting equipment. He also claims that there will be a significant reduction in the number of rollerskating accidents if the above investment is made. Accident numbers can reduce if protective gear is worn judiciously. However, the author’s argument is replete with errors in logic and does not hold water.

To begin with, the statistical study is bereft of authenticity. There is no mention about the number of people the survey was conducted on, the area it was conducted in, etc. for instance, hilly areas with rougher terrain are prone to more friction and hence can cause more accidents that flatland areas. Weather conditions also affect the occurrence of accidents, which increase during rains and foggy conditions. Apart from this, a large group of people are aware about the consequences of skating without any protection and are educated enough to be safe and sound while doing so. They can be visiting the emergency rooms for small cuts and bruises that occur generally due to tripping or falling during the learning process as well. This does not really give a strong indication of the lack of donning protective gear.

It is a well known fact that it is quite dangerous to be skating on streets and in parking lots and requires the usage of protective gear. All of the rollerskating accidents occurring are not solely the skater’s fault. Rash driving, not abiding by traffic regulations, speeding and misjudgement of drivers cause a major portion of said accidents, irrespective of the fact that whether the person is wearing protective gear or not. That being said, in order to reduce the occurrence of such accidents it is always safer to skate in designated skating zones or skating rinks and to be extremely cautious whilst skating on roads and parking lots. The need of the hour is to make stricter traffic rules, invest in more sign boards and stop signs, illuminating parking lots and creating more skating zones in neighbourhoods.

The overall scenario points toward a lack of education and the brevity of the situation is not being understood. Amateur skaters are not experienced enough to be skating on streets and parking lots, there are designated areas for them to learn and practice in, before they can venture out into the streets. Rollerskating banks on balance and the terrain of roads are not suitable for learning. The professionals are careful enough and experienced when it comes to street skating. Protective gear is no misnomer among the skating population.

In conclusion, it can be true that there is a need of investing more in protective gear and light reflecting equipment but the author needs to provide additional details regarding the statistics, the need for protective gear solely to prevent accidents, the number of skaters getting admitted in order for his argument to hold merit.