Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that human activity had played no role in the extinction of large mammal on the Kaliko Islands, and it was a result of climate change or other environmental factor. Although it seems convincing, it is established on a few assumptions that are replete with holes and flaws.

First of all, the statement assumes that no substantial amount of contact with mammals equals to no human influence on these species. However, this assumption is simply invalid. Although there was no evidence showing the human-large mammal interaction, it could not prove that this type of interaction did not exist. It is likely with better equipment and further studies on this area that this contact between humans and the mammals will be discovered. Furthermore, even if it were true that there was not direct contact, human activities might have influenced these species indirectly. For instance, human’s over-farming may have caused certain type of food resources of these mammals to reduce drastically. Therefore, this assumption is entirely false.

Secondly, the argument uses the discarded fishbone and the never-discovered mammal relics to assume that humans had never hunted these large game of animals. In order to make this connection, the argument believes that since there is no discovery of mammal bones, they were not preyed by humans. It has not taken one possibility into consideration that the reason why archaeologists could not found mammal bones in the same area is because these bones and leftovers were not preserved as properly as the fish bones. As a result, the mammal bones became stones or sands under the influence of history. What is more, even though they have not found any mammal relics, this does not mean that archaeologist has not found any bones of these species at all.

What is more, after excluding human influence on the extinction, the argument immediately supported the alternative cause: environmental factors. This assumption totally ignores any other type of potential reason of this extinction. For instance, it could be a type of epidemic disease among these mammals that had wiped them out. Before, the argument can examine these other potential factors, it is very unconvincing to conclude that environmental factors are the main culprit.

In sum, this argument is entirely built on a few very unpersuasive assumptions. In order to strengthen its credibility, many alternative explanations need to be proven impossible.