In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that the Mason city government should make more monetary contribution toward the riverside recreational facilities appears to be logical at the first glance. However, after a detailed examination, I belive this argument is established on a few assupmtions that may not be necessarly true.

To begin with, this argument believes that the plans to clean up the Mason River is definitely effective. However, we will never know certainly that these plans will work until they are executed. Even if the plans are working, there are so many other factors in play that can affect the water’s quality. For example, an unexpected oil leakage from a ship will pollute the water and exacerbate the situation; a large amount of rainfall may cause floodflush that can bring many pollutants to the water as well as make the river smell worse. As a result, we cannot expect the plans will work for sure.

Let’s say that we know for a fact that the water will definitely become cleaner and smell fresher, does it imply an increased utilization in using this Mason river for recreational purposes? Although the residents will probably be glad the river is cleaned up, they may habitually go to where they used to visit to enjoy these activities, such as to the ocean. Also, whenever the residents are on vacation, they may want to take a break from the city and simply take a tour to somewhere else where they are able to enjoy swimming, fishing, or boating. Also, even if the surveyed residents ranked ... as their favorites, they may not able to actually go to do these sports due to time, energy, budget, and other resources.

If there are more and more local people who will play sports on the Mason River, is it a necessity for the government to allocate more money to the riverside recreational facilities forthwith? The argument not only assumed there will be an increase in the utiliztion of the Mason, but also expected the increase is so drastic that the current facilities will not be sufficient. It could be very likely that the growth of people going the the river will be slow. Unless the goverment has carefully evaluated the capacities of the current facilities and realistically calculated the number in growth, it is very presumotious to conclude more money should be devoted to the facilities .

To conclude, before the goverment can prove that the water quality will be better and that there will be a substantial increase of utilization of riverside facilities, we need more time to consider and examine this proposal.