An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

There are multiple issues that would prove the argument here to be fallacious. Following are some of them, described in a little detail.

While it is true that Tagus is plagued with vitamin A deficiency, is it the biggest health concern that the nation faces? The argument itself states that the nation is 'impoverished.' If it is true that the populace has much larger food issues than simply a vitamin A deficiency, would any amount of efforts from the government really make the general public act to combat the deficiency of vitamin A, preempting their much larger problems? I wouldn't think so.

Another concern I see is this: Is the new type of millet the only answer for Tagus' vitamin A deficiency problem? Is there absolutely no other way the issue can be resolved at all? Is using these costlier millet seeds the only solution that can be implemented as of now? Are there any ways by which the people are already trying to combat the problem? If this isn't the case, (and chances are there will be at least something else that can help with the problem,) why should the government go all out to promote the new type of millet?

Also, is the new millet essentially the same as the regular millet? Are there any changes in texture and taste? Because if there are, there is the possibility that even though the grain is a staple, people will begin to reject it, and its consumption will decrease. Also, there will be an increase in the price of millet, which would also cause a reduction in consumption of the same. This would result in the plan failing miserably.

Finally, would the nation on the whole actually benefit from the increased cultivation of the new type of millet? Will it not adversely affect the economy, as it would lead to increased supply with reducing demand? Will the government itself not lose money by subsidizing these seeds? Is it really in the nation's best interests for the government to promote these new seeds to combat vitamin A deficiency?

In conclusion, I'd like to state that the presented recommendation has a lot of loop holes and problems in itself, and definitely needs to be worked upon for it to be an implementable plan.