An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

It appears that the recommendation would ameliorate the vitamin A deficiency of the people, but there are a few loopholes in the reasoning presented. Therefore the following questions need to be addressed.

Firstly, Will the cultivation of the new breed be equally or more profitable for the farmers? If the answer is in negative, most farmers would not shift from the old seeds. If they still do shift, it will cause them to get less profit, which might be an undesirable side effect.

Secondly, is there a noticeable taste difference between the old millet and the new millet? Since millet is the staple food for the people of Tagus, the change in taste might cause them to be resistant to the new variety.

Thirdly, does the change from the old variety to the new result in the body absorbing enough vitamin A to combat the deficiency? If not, to what degree does it improve the situation? Knowing this is important as it is possible that the body does not absorb any vitamin A though millet. This would make the recommendation to fail to cause any impact.

Lastly, does consuming this new variety in copious amounts cause any harm? As millet is an integral part of the diet of the people, this is an important factor to consider.

The answers to these questions will help ensure that the adoption of the recommendation has desired results. If there are any possible negative consequences, knowing them beforehand would help in minimizing or even eliminating them. And if the cons outweigh the pros, one could work on an alternate method to respond to the vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus.