An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While this is a great innovation and a great example of how science helps improve humanity, there are several points that need to be addressed before we conclude that switching to the new type of millet will be a success. Change is difficult, especially since this is with regards to an important aspect of the Tagus lifestyle. Food defines a countries culture and while this switch is beneficial to the people, it can have many social effects. As the international development organization and the Tagus government addresses the following issues, the transition to the new millet will be smoother and less chaotic.

The Tagus people are already impoverished, while the government will help farmers produce the new millet, will the millet cost more to the population buying it in the markets, or will it cost the same to the population. If the sell price will increase because of its nutritional value, then the switch to the new millet will be more difficult since the people are already struggling to feed themselves.

What are the major social issues that plague the Tagus people? In an impoverished nation, a vitamin deficiency may not be the immediate problem that the people of Tagus care about. Is there war and violence in the country? If that is the case, then the people of Tagus don't care about vitamins, they are worried about bombs and guns. Is the Tagus government filled with corruption? The government can promote the new millet with all of its might and power, however if the people don't trust the government officials to act in the populations best interest, then they won't believe that the government is trying to address a major nutritional issue that the people of Tagus face.

However on the flip side, if the major social issue that the people of Tagus face currently is deaths and sickness due to the deficiency in vitamin A then switching to the new millet will be relatively easy in addressing a major epidemic that has resulted in the sickness and death of the people of Tagus.

While vitamin A is a important to the body, if the people of Tagus are facing other immediate problems, then the transition will not be successful. However is the introduction of this new millet will address the immediate needs of the people, then the people will readily adopt the new variety of millet.