An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument revolves around a specific way a problem may be fixed. The author believes that the vitamin A deficiency can be dealt by the implementation of a new breed of millet high in Vitamin A. However, the author has made several major assumptions that needs to be addressed before this idea can be accepted or rejected.

Firstly, the author assumes that farmers will be willing to plant the new variety of seeds if they will be given a subsidy. This specific point may not encourage people of Tagus to plant the seeds. They may not be concerned with ways to decrease Vitamin A deficiency, since they might have more important issues at hand. For example, in an impoverished nation, people will have other problems such as scarcity of water, electricity, and other major health related issues. Thus, people in Tagus may not be willing to spend their time and efforts towards an issue such as Vitamin A deficiency.

Furthermore, the author also assumes that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will be more willing to adopt the new variety. However, it is not confirmed whether people will like the taste of the new breed of millet. They may prefer to stick with the original version.

Overall, the points made in the argument may be valid; however, there is a need for more evidence to prove that the points are valid.