An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement is covering the issue of vitamin A deficiency among the population of Tagus, which was addressed by an international development organization that proposed a new breed of millet with increased quantity of the lacking vitamin to be introduced in the country. While it is argued that the solution is likely to be well received by the citizens and eventually prove effective, the data provided is not enough to ensure the strength of such assertion. In fact, there are three assumptions that lack evidence to support them.

First of all, the argument is based on the assumption that the new type of millet will solve the problem of vitamin A deficiency among the population. This may actually be wrong, as no information is given on any relevant research that could prove that consumption of new millet will increase vitamin A levels. In fact, vitamin perception by human organism depends largely on the accompanying vitamins that are being receiving with food. Some vitamins simply cannot be absorbed if the food contains other element that negate the effect of those vitamins. Thus, consumption of new type of millet does not necessarily ensure improved A vitamin levels, especially if it constitutes other elements preventing a proper digestion of vitamin A.

Secondly, the argument plays on the assumption that the government of Tagus will be in favor of the idea to subsidize farmers, since the seeds of the new millet are more expensive than those of the traditional type. If the authorities actually object to provide financial resources to support the production of new millet, then it would be hard to implement the idea at all, unless the international development organization finds other sources of funding.

Finally, one should not forget about the farmers who may be opposed to the suggestion due to several reasons. Without a guarantee of being subsidized, a farmer is unlikely to adopt the idea since, given higher costs of the mew seeds, it would mean running a risk of disrupting personal financial stability. Moreover, farmers may find it more difficult to deal with new type of millet if in general there are higher costs corresponding to their cultivation. If this is the case, then once again the suggestion that governments have to promote new type of millet will be a wrong advise that would probably lead to a conflict between the farmers and the authorities of Tagus.

Overall, although the proposition seems to have good intentions, more factors have to be taken into consideration before moving on with the decision.