An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A.While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

Does consuming a diet rich in iron relieves one from iron deficiency? The certainity of such a process depends upon an statistical report rather than a thought process. The argument though convincing at the first outlook has many inherent flaws that can pondered upon. Once these thoughts are put into action a plausible outcome can be assumed.

For a predicted outcome, certain assumptions must be critically reviewed and proved in real life. Although it is assumed in farmers case the subsidies will make them buy the new varieties of the seeds, the consequences of the seed sowing and farming are not put into consideration. For instance, consider if the the new seeds turn out to be potentially harmful to the soil the farmers wouldn't like to farm in the coming crop years. There needs to a practical examination of the pros and cons of such new breed of seeds on the agricultral farms. A typical analogy would be a Green house chambers which are used to test Green house effects on atmosphere.

If only does farmers cultivation come out to be estimated one without any ill-effects, it doesn't guarantee any acceptance by people. People can have multitude of opinions from east to west; some can really like the new seeds some may even hate the taste. A proper experiment needs to be done by government by examining different classes of people, a study of the results for the experiments can give valuable insights to the government inorder to implement the proposal in a beneficial way.

Even sometimes as stated at the begining does energy rich foods necessary terminate the deficiency. Sometime even an other era of deficeiency can be started in the worst case. There is no necessary evidence provided that this new breed of millet will reduce the deficiency. As already mentioned a study might here too. A small group of people from distinguished backgrounds and provided these high vitamin A millets for a peroid of time, to identify whether this seed really does its intended function.

The government of Tagus must take necessary steps itself or ask the organization, inorder to follow the above mentioned steps for better results. Promoting the new breed of millet might have unknown consequences which can be avoided .