An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

An International Organisation has developed a new variant of Millet, which is rich in Vitamin A in order to combat the deficiency of Vitamin A among the people of Tagus. It is stated that, even though the seeds will cost more, however, farmers will be paid subsidy while purchasing them. Moreover, it is stated that Millet being a staple food of the people of Tagus, the people will adopt the new variety very quickly and the concern of Vitamin A deficiency will be resolved soon.

Even though the above argument seems spot on, however it does have some serious lacunas which when considered make this argument hollow. It is said that Tagus, is an impoverished nation and farmers will be paid subsidies for the procurement of seeds, however, nothing is mentioned about the conditions about growing these new breed of millet seeds. It is very much possible that these new seeds will require much more nurturing and better environmental conditions for its cultivation, the cost of which may not be feasible for the poor farmers. Even more, even if the farmers are able to afford these increased expenditures, it cannot be said for sure that these millets would be affordable by the common people. Hence, the entire motive of combating Vitamin A deficiency becomes a failure.

Apart from that, it is nowhere mentioned that people of Targus is alright with consumption of genetically engineered crops. It may be possible that people of Targus, even though impoverished, tend to consume only organic grains in accordance with their traditions. Hence, it cannot be said for sure that people will readily adopt the new variant of Millet.

In addition, there is nothing said about the consumer safety of these modified grains, no scientific results or experiments confirming the safety of these modified crops are mentioned in the argument. Thereby, making this argument weak.

Moreover, It is said that Government of Targus should do everything to promote this new type of millet. This argument is simply too ambitious for the person making this statement. Because, it cannot be said for sure that the Government has enough funds for endorsing this type of mass program, as the statement already mentions that Targus is an impoverished nation.

Hence, even though the argument seems very convincing for combating the Vitamin A deficiency in Targus, however it has some serious faults which cannot be ignored. Thereby making this very sound argument invalid.