An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although this organization has a sound basis and reasoning for creating this new version of Vitamin A, there are a variety of questions that are necessary to be answered in order to implement this new drug. First, has this drug been tested on animals or humans to evaluate its humaneness and its effectiveness? It is imperative to have this experimental data provided before releasing it to the public; thus, cancelling out any possibility of a biological mishap and to make any necessary modifications. Secondly, did the population of inhabitants living in the impoverished nation of Tagus consent to using this new breed of millet high Vitamin A? In order to conduct an ethical experiment, the international development organization is required to inform the citizens of Tagus what they will be consuming, the benefits, and the possible issues or side effects that can come from taking this drug. Otherwise, the organization is at fault for using these people are a mere means and will suffer heavy consequences if the new breed has any reverse reactions than the intended. Lastly, did the international development organization consider the cost of the drug when targeting the impoverished nation of Tagus? One could only conclude that not every citizen of Tagus is a farmer. Therefore, how will the families of non-farmers be accounted for if they cannot afford the drug? Yes, the government should promote this new type of millet to combat vitamin A deficiency, but if the organization has not discussed or implemented a financial partnership with Tagus' government, the organization will most likely not get the response they expected from the poor country.