Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The argument here states that we should have to invest our resources in unmanned space flight rather than man one. This argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy this conclusion, the arguer’s reason is that unmanned space flight will give more useful information without the cost and risk associated with sending man and women in the space. However, careful scrutiny reveals that it provides little justification to the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that manned space flight is costly and dangerous.. This is merely and the assumption made without solid ground. The argument does not describe what kind of risks is associated with manned space flight. Likewise, the argument also fails to explain how much more cost is associated with it. There is a possibility that the space flight will be safer by believing in present technology than discussed in the argument. There is also possibility that in long term the information gathered by manned space craft might be cost effective in long term. However, the argument would have been bettered it explain the risk and extravagant cost associated with the manned space craft.

Secondly, the author argues here that the recent unmanned space probe and satellites are doing better by providing more information in minimum cost and risk. This again is a weak analogy present by the argument and it does not depict the clear correlations between the success of space flight and types of space flight (Manned and unmanned). This argument fails to explain the reason behind it. It also fails to explain the example of unmanned space craft which did very better than the manned one. The arguer also seems weak to show additional benefit of unmanned space craft in order to gather useful information.

Moreover, the argument states that the respected organization should focus on investing resources in unmanned space flight to minimize threat and to save huge investment. However, careful judgment of evidences reveals that it provides little support for author’s statement in various critical aspects and raises some skeptical questions. For example, What is the total cost associated with manned and unmanned space flight respectfully? What if the unmanned space craft needed costly and sophisticated equipment to gather the useful information in absence the human mind? What is the reliability of the data acquired by that equipment? What short of risk is associated with manned space flight? What, our present technology unable to win the risk of manned space craft? Without convincing to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the author’s argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author most provide clear and more convincing information about the extravagant cost and the risk associated with the manned space flight than the unmanned one. The example of any successful unmanned spacecraft would strengthen the argument.