Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flue were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person wil die as a result of the inoculation, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The argument talks about possibility of saving lives against cow flu using inoculations. It specifically says that if inoculations against cow flu were administered routinely many lives can be saved. However, there is slight possibility of a person dying due to inoculations against cow flu.

To evaluate the argument evidence which will prove several hypothesis that are namely,

(1) Routine inoculations against cow flu saves lives

(2) There is probability of a person dying from inoculation against cow flu

If there is any positive or negative deviations in the above hypothesis, the arguments will weaken or strengthen.

In the case of fluctuations in hypothesis (1) and keeping hypothesis (2) constant, if the routine inoculations against cow flu does not saves lives or is not effective,the argument is strengthen as inoculation will just heighten the risk of death of the person.

In case of fluctuations in the hypothesis (2) and keeping hypothesis (1) constant, if the routine inoculations against cow flu has very low probability of the person dying the argument will be weaken however, if the probability of a person dying due to inoculations against cow flu is high then the argument is strengthen.

So the evidence to check the extent of validity of the hypothesis (1) and (2) is needed to evaluate the argument.