Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article asserts that diet with milk and dairy will, contradict to many people’s thought, increase the risk of osteoporosis. In order to support the assertion, the author claims that, according to the study, people have higher rate of bone fractures, which is one of the symptom of osteoporosis. However, more evidences need to be provided in order to assess this claim.

First, we need to know how the study was conducted. Was the data they receive from the people of the study correct? For example, if the researcher acquired the data from the questionnaire, that only asked people for whether or not they got feature bones, the data may exist biases or inaccuracy. Even though they investigated for the fracture bone by the technical instrument, they still need to show the detail about it. That is, whether the instruments investigate for fracture bones trustworthy? Were these instruments calibrated so that they can get accurate data? Without these further details of the study, we cannot make sure there are more people have fractures bones in this study.

The second thing we need to know is that whether other factors, other than osteoporosis, may result in bone fractures. Fracture bones is one of the indicator of osteoporosis, but it doesn’t indicate the all fracture bones in the study are caused by osteoporosis. For example, people who love extreme sport may have more probability to get fracture bones. Or, it is also possible other unhealthy diet may increase the risk of fracture bones. For example, some research shows that people who love fast food may consume more calcium in their body decaying their bone’s strength, and therefore have higher risk to get fracture bones. Hence, only after we clarify these factor we can conclude that the the fracture bones is result from osteoporosis.

Furthermore, it is necessary to know the detail of the milk that is consumed by the people in the study. That is, even calcium and vitamin D, which conducive to maintaining bones, are contain in regular milk, we cannot guarantee the people in the study had drank this kind of product. It is possible that the milk they consumed was “trimmed” milk, which is lack of crucial these elements to maintain bone structure. Once we cannot make sure whether those people took normal milk, we cannot substantiate the claim of the author.

To sum up, there are several essential factors need to be elucidated to substantiate the claim of the author. Before enough evidences are provided, it is too assertive to say that milk will increase the risk of osteoporosis.