Most homes in the northeastern United States where winters are typically cold have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below normal temperatures and climate forecasters predi

Considering the low temperature and high demand for heating oil, the firm suggests its client to invest in Consolidated Industries, whose major business is the retail sale of heating oil. Before the client make the decision, he should, however, think carefully about the following questions. Is it true that the weather will continue to be low in the northeastern United States? Does a low temperature indicate a high demand for heating oil? Does a high demand for heating oil predict more revenue for Consolidated Industries? Without these questions justified, we cannot reach the conclusion that the client should invest the Consolidated Industries.

First of all, by citing last year's weather and local weather forecasters, the firm claims that the temperature will stay low in winter in the coming years. It might be the case that weather changes moderately from year to year, and thus we can predict a cold winter based on last year's low temperature. However, weather is usually quite random and we just cannot reach a solid conclusion based on the past. By citing local weather forecasters, the firm would like to add credibility to its argument. However, as many details are missing, the citation seems pointless. For example, we do not know who these forecasters are, whether they have a relevant degree, and whether they are experienced. To strengthen the argument, the firm needs to add more sources and details justifying why the weather will stay low in the coming year.

Even if we estimate a low temperature in the coming years, we cannot jump to the conclusion that the demand for heating oil will increase. While "Homes, ..., traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating", we cannot simply conclude they will continue do so in the coming year. It is possible that homes switch to a hybrid mode when facing low temperature. For example, homes can, at the same time, use electricity and oil for heating. From this point of view, we cannot guarantee an increase in demand for oil. Also, by mentioning there are many new home built, the company predicts that the demand of oil will grow. This seemingly correct argument is based on the unjustified assumption that the population will grow. This assumption is unconvincing, as we can claim a decrease in population due to bad weather. Regardless of whether people will continue using oil and weather the population will grow, the firm does not show a connection between low temperature and high demand for oil.

Building upon the implication that an increase in demand for oil will lead to increase in revenue for the Consolidated Industries, the firm persuades the client to invest the Consolidated Industries. We need to think about the share of heating oil before jump to the conclusion. The firm only mentions that for Consolidated Industries, "... major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil", but more data and statistics are needed to build the relationship between heating oil and Consolidated Industries. Also, as a client, the ultimate goal is to invest companies whose revenue will increase. However, the firm fail to build the connection between the increase in demand and the increase in revenue. The revenue from the retail sale is influenced by many factors, like the demand, the policy, and the market. We cannot predict a higher revenue just based on a higher demand.