A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until college.

There is a common saying that goes "There is beauty in the symmetry". While many interpret this in the visual, beauty sense, it encompasses much of life's aspects. For instance, the homogeny of people who are all on the same page and work together. By enforcing a standard national curriculum that all students until college learn, this idea of a harmonious working class can be achieved.

This harmony comes into play when students are applying to colleges. By having a standardized curriculum, all applicants will come in with an equal playing field in terms of education. Regardless of if the student came from a poor neighborhood or an elite school, they will both have the same level of education. An equivalent level of basic information would allow more students to elevate their post-secondary expectations, as they do not need to rely on tutors, YouTube, or any external resources to compete with other students who may have access to these aids. This idea would be more illustrious with the termination of affirmative action, which helped low-class, first-generation, or minority members of society to get into post-secondary schools. This action was eliminated as it gave an unfair advantage to students based on their race, family, or other intangible factors. A national curriculum would not only help these in-need students get into colleges but also keep a competitive aspect in the registration process without any biases.

In addition to helping students who want to go into post-secondary, a national curriculum would help students who want to immediately go into the workforce. Nowadays, fewer jobs allow for a high school diploma, and a growing number of entry-level jobs that ask for a bachelor's degree or multiple years of work experience. It is unrealistic to have these expectations for an entry-level job, especially for an 18,19, or 20 year old. With a national curriculum, jobs would have a basis to judge their applicants as they would all have the same basis of knowledge coming out of high school. This would outright eliminate the need for degrees and work experience for some jobs as they already know what level of education the person has and do not need assurance like with a degree.

Some would disagree with my stance on this topic and claim that this would impede the students who want to go to prestigious schools like Harvard. They believe that a national curriculum would water down the applicants to these schools and tarnish the work that some students put in to get into these schools. This could not be further from the truth. While this curriculum would help students who want to go to low to medium level schools as they would become more competitive with a similar basis of knowledge to the other students. It would have the opposite effect for prestigious schools. This curriculum would put an even bigger emphasis on the experiences and outside of education aspects of the students. This would give an advantage for students who are actively working towards these schools as they can more readily distance themselves from the average applicant with their experiences and would tighten the criteria to get into these schools.

Enforcing a national curriculum would be one of the best things our country could do with its education system. This much-needed update to the curriculum would not only alleviate the differences between low class and high class applicants but also help students that want to go into the workforce. A national curriculum of this magnitude would help harmonize our society by giving everyone an equal fighting chance in the land of the free.