Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature’s Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville’s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion from, from disjointed and incomplete data, that Nature's Way will be successful in the town of Plainsville. In the support of his position, the writer mentioned that Plainsvilles' people live a healthy life so they will use the product of Nature's Way. At first glance, the writer's conclusion seems plausible, but in the depth analysis reveals certain logical fallacies.

The major lacuna in the given argument is the unjustified assumption that there are no other health-related stores in Plainsville. It's likely that Plainsville already has famous health-related stores. If the products of the other stores are meeting the people's expectations at quality and price over Nature's Way, then maybe no one will go to Nature's Way. Therefore, the writer's optimistic conclusion regarding Nature's Way success will fall-apart. Moreover, the writer assumes that the residents of Plainsville live a healthy life based on the selling of sports shoes and clothes. At the same time, it's highly probable that people's purchased products for some sports events and not for daily use. It's also possible that due to certain sales or discount peoples were attracted to buy these products. Consequently, if it's true then it will diminish the writer's assumption regarding the resident's healthy lifestyle and Nature's Way success. The writer didn't mention the purchasing power of the Plainsville people because it's necessary to evaluate that peoples have enough income to buy health-related products. Hence, if the peoples didn't earn enough to spend on the health-related products then Nature's Way will prove to be unsuccessful.

Furthermore, the writer unfairly assumes that people of the Plainsville are more concerned about their health as most of the weight training and aerobics classes are always remains full. There may be only a few classes for the aerobic because there are no demands for such classes among the Plainsville people. Hence, as the classes are few it's naturally that it remains full. Therefore, attendance in the aerobics and health-related classes doesn't lead to conclude that people are more concerned about their health in Plainsville. Moreover, the writer mentioned that the local health club has more members than ever. Here, the major gap is the unstated assumption that peoples going to a health club will use the product of the Plainsville. It's highly probable that peoples are going to the local health club just to do a simple exercise to be fit or maybe to get some relaxation. Consequently, maybe peoples aren't using the health-related products which Nature's Way will be going to offer. Also, the writer became pollyannish about the future success of Nature's Way while mentioning that schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program. Here, it would be unreasonable to assume that all children will adopt a healthy lifestyle as the program suggest and use healthy products. It's highly probable that children will eventually forget about the learning and never follow the lesson they learned about a healthy lifestyle. Therefore, the writer's prediction about the future customer proves unwarranted.

All things considering, it may be said that the writer failed to provide a convincing argument because of the complete absence of the evidence required for his assumption. The writer needs to bolster the argument with information related to other health-related stores and the total number of people attending the gym and aerobics. Moreover, there is a requirement of evidence that can prove that most of the Plainsville people are purchasing health-related products. But, no convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that are likely to incorrect.