Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author recommends that Nature’s Way (NW), a chain of health stores selling health foods and health-related products, should open a new franchise in Plainsville. To support this view, the author cites the following facts about Plainsville: (1) sales of exercise shoes and clothing are at all-time highs; (2) the local health club is more popular than ever; (3) the city’s schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness program. However, close scrutiny of each of these facts reveals that none of them lend sound support to the recommendation.

First, strong sales in exercise clothing do not necessarily indicate that Plainsville residents would be interested in exercising or NW’s products. Perhaps exercise outfits are inexpensive compared to other types of clothing and thus are favored by the middle-class families, which is also the majority of Plainsville citizens. Perhaps sports apparel is comfortable, or fashionable and prevailing among all ages. For that matter, perhaps the stronger-than-ever sales are due to increasing sales to tourists. In short, without ruling out other possible reasons for the strong sales, the author cannot convince me that Plainsville residents are exercising regularly, let alone that they would be interested in buying NW’s health products.

Secondly, the popularity of local club and its training classes accomplishes nothing toward bolstering the recommendation. Perhaps the club is of a very small scale, such as a max capacity of 20 people, so a slight increase in club members can easily fill up the classes. Or perhaps the club’s primary appeal is as a single meeting place and its members actually have little interest in exercising. Besides, even if the members are sufficient in number and would patronize a healthy lifestyle, the new NW store may be far away from the club, which makes potential customers less likely to shop.

Thirdly, the fact that fitness programs are mandatory for schoolchildren in Plainsville does not ensure NW’s profit in the future. Mandatory participants in programs cannot indicate children’s genuine interests, or even more egregiously, students would be averse such obligation against their wills and as well as exercising. Besides, many years must pass before those children will be mature enough to make their shopping decision when it comes to health foods and other health-related products. Their habits and interests might change radically over time. For example, when they grow up, they might prefer unhealth lifestyle, e.g. eating junk food, living a sedentary life or staying up late – as contrary to the healthful habits imposed upon them now.

Finally, even assuming that Plainsville residents are strongly interested in eating health foods and other health-related products, the recommendation also relies on two additional unwarranted assumptions: (1) people in Plainsville prefer NW over any other merchants that sell similar products, and (2) this interest would continue in the foreseeable future that are long enough for NW to make a profit. Until the author substantiates both assumptions I remain suspicious of the lucrative prospect of NW.

To sum up, the author fails to justify his/her recommendation that a NW franchise in Plainsville would be successful because the evidence cited does not constitute logically invulnerable support. To be more convincing, the author should provide more information – perhaps by way of a local survey – to justify his/her assumption that Plainsville citizens are fond of exercising and likely to buy health foods and health-related products at a NW store.