"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies

Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental

prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston

significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by

reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order

to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we

recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

In the argument, the author points out a solution to cope with declining profits which is reducing operating costs. He thinks so because increasing the price is not a viable solution as he doesn't want to ruin their reputation of being cheap. However, his position is based on some unwarranted assumptions, which, to make his solution more effective need to be clarified.

First of all, he thinks that reducing operating costs only would help them fight the decline in profit as if, operating cost is the main cause behind the problem. Maybe he is facing a reduction in profit for completely different reasons. Maybe people's taste has changed over time or they are watching movies on different platform such as Netflix or Amazon at a cheaper price. The location of the stores may also play a crucial role. Perhaps his stores are located in such an area where people are not interested in movies or there are other stores that are providing movies at a cheaper rate than that of Movies Galore's. If this is the case, then reducing operating costs is not going to help him fight the crisis.

Secondly, He states, their store in downtown Marston significantly decreased their operating cost by reducing the opening hour and removing older movies from the self. But he doesn't provide any data whether this approach worked or not. He acted as he planned, but we need more data about the act's success. Or his planned just worked for the image they already have, not necessarily for the change they made.

Finally, Let's assume that, reducing operating cost worked fine for the store at Marston. But it doesn't necessarily mean that this approach would also work for the other nine stores as well. Maybe the other stores are located in places where it gets busy after 9.00. So, closing the stores before 9 may actually backfire. There is also a concern about people's tastes. Getting rid of movies older than 5 years may have worked for the store at Marston because people there love newer movies. What if people at other stores come to the store mainly for older movies. If the customer's priority and pick hours are different in the other 9 stores, then the solution, worked for the first one, may not work for the latter.

The author must take a holistic approach to fight declining profit. Maybe He needs to gather more information about customer's choice, what other factors can contribute to a decline in profit and what other approaches he can take to tackle the change. Making contrived change based on vague assumptions will only make his solution impractical and unviable.