Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The memorandum from the business manager for a television station does not accurately represent the whole of the presented problem. The argument overly weighs criticism of the current progam, does not consider other reasons for the loss of advertising contracts, and ultimately provides an extreme solution given the existing information.

One of the main pieces of supporting evidence is the fact that most of the complaints from viewers were regarding the coverage of weather and local news. The argument does not specify if the complaints were regarding the content or quantity of the local news coverage. Inclusion of this detail would be vital to improving the argument that quantity of local and weather coverage should be increased. Additionally, the current amount of complaints is not assessed against complaints prior to the change to national news. Without proper assessment of pre-existing conditions, this portion of the assessment lacks weight. An improvement of this argument would include specification regarding the breakdown between content and quantify critiques, as well as a comparison to data on complaints prior to the last year of programming.

The second supporting piece of evidence has similar issues, as it does not look at other reasons for loss of advertisement revenue. Due to an increase in programs such as Hulu, Netflix, and Amazon Prime, many households are choosing to remove cable television entirely. Due to this switch in entertainment access, some advertisers are following suit and advertising elsewhere. The argument does not consider other reasons for loss of contacts. Additionally, the argument specifies that local businesses were cancelling advertising contracts. This may be due to another reason such as an already sustainable market without need for advertisement, or the choice to advertise elsewhere to better suit the businesses needs. The argument is being overtly presumptuous regarding the reason for cancelling, and assuming the reason being the cover of national news instead of local. Additional information, such as a survey to these businesses for a reason for cancellation, could benefit the argument.

Ultimately, the argument's supporting claims lack impact in the argument's favor. The inclusion of additional data regarding the amount and subject of the mentioned complaints, as well as the gap in knowledge around the reasons for contract cancellations would both benefit the argument. Comparing current and past contract loss, as well as complaint count and content, would be beneficial and provide a better scope for the argument instead of relying on the present. Given that both the critique and the loss of contracts arguments lack detail and numerical data, the decision to restore time devoted to weather and local news is a hasty plan. The claim that the channel should restore the coverage of weather and local news is unsupported by the current argument.