"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The manager of the television station decided to reduce the timing of the national news and increase the timing of the local and weather news at that time. The manager of the television station received so many complaints from the customer over the past year and many advertising companies canceled the contract with the television station. The author conclude that to overcome from the lose, television station decided to show weather and local news more on the television to attract the viewer. The proposed argument is flawed because it is based on unsupported assumptions. The evidence presented by the author is not sufficient enough to lead convincingly to the proposed claim, making the argument vulnerable to criticism.

To begin with, the first problem with the argument is vague terminology used by the author. The manager mention that time has increase to the national news and reduce the timing of the local and weather news. However, he does not specify how much time was the decrease , 2 hours or 10 minutes? Next he argue that in this time most of the complaints were receive related to weather and local news, Here the wording is also ambiguous. The manager should have mentioned the exact number of complaints received from the customer or may used some statistical tools to represent the opinion of viewers.

Secondly, the author assume that reducing the time of the weather and local news is only reason for the complaints receive from the viewers. However, it could be the case that the complaint receive due to the content of weather and local news. May be the local news covered mostly scandalous news of their beloved politicians. That is why many viewer carping about it. Thus in order to validate his assumptions the author should have mentioned solid evidence. The presence of any of these factor will seriously challenge the cause and effect relationship between local news and reduction in viewers. Had the author mention that all other factor effecting to reduce number of viewer were constant and the effect was triggered only due to reduction in timing of local and weather news, the argument would have been stronger.

Thirdly, the author assume that local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with television station. However, it could be the possibility that the manager relation was not good in past year with advertising companies and it may be the reason for canceling the contract with the manager. Or perhaps the popularity of the station decline and a new station gain popularity and company make contract with new television station manager. The presence of any of these factor will seriously challenge the cause and effect relationship with television station and advertising companies. Had the author mention that all other factor effecting to reduce number of viewer were constant and the effect was triggered only due to canceling the contracts, the argument would have been stronger.

Fourthly, the author concludes that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will have the desired effect of attracting more viewers and losing further revenues. However this conclusion is based on fallacious logic. The revenue loss and the viewers are not directly associated with the local and weather news. All this faulty assumptions lead to an untenable conclusion. To bolster the conclusion the author could have provided certain facts or statistics that explicitly shows the link between the viewers , revenues and the time allotted to the weather and local news.

Since the given argument suffers from causal, vague terminology, erroneous assumptions. It is vulnerable to criticism by incorporating the points mention above the author could have bolstered his argument.