Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The author of the passage claims that ancient humans knew secrets about the human body that modern people are unaware of. He infers that by using these secrets, and by emulating their ways, many chronic illnesses can be cured.

While the author makes several points to support his stand, there are many loopholes in the conclusion that mimicking the hominid way of eating, or adopting paleo diets, have great benefits or illness curing capabilities.

Firstly, the lack of metabolic and inflammatory diseases in those who consume bone broth as compared to those who don't may merely be a correlation confused for causation. Humans have always shown inclination to create causation where they want to believe a certain thing to be true. The simple logic that cartilage replenishes cartilage is very attractive. Another instance of an account being correlation and not causation is people believing the vaccinations given to children cause autism in them. While the consequences of this misconception is much more precarious than the one mentioned in the passage, it is caused cause by similar kind of anecdotal evidence.

This also attributes to the dangers of statistical analysis. With limited data, relations between any two things can be found. To confirm these, the data has to be in very large numbers and has to be backed by scientific evidence.

Furthermore, there is a massive time lapse between the era when the hominids lived and the present. If we, for the purpose of the argument, assume that the hominids where capable of what they were presumed to, humans now have come a long way of evolving from hominids. What may have had a certain effect on the human body may not have the same effect on it at present. A classic evidence of this happening is the appendix being a vestigial organ. While the appendix may have been useful to the humans in the ancient times to digest grass and other foods of the sort, we do not require it anymore due to the dietary changes of the humans. Many people have also developed intolerance to several foods that were once prominent sources of nutrients. Hence, even if the diet worked in the past, it is not necessary it will work today.

In conclusion, while the authors inference may be true to some extent, there isn't enough evidence that these diets have the same effect on modern human physiology.