Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument makes some unwarranted assumptions like the emulation of ancient humans' diet being a cure to many chronic illnesses, ancient humans' knowledge about their body's physiology.

Fallacy 1 : Emulation of ancient humans' diet being a cure to many chronic illnesses:

This assumption is not justified. During prehistoric times, the very concept of society did not exist. Human beings were synonymous to that of wild animals. They were extremely ferocious and often feasted on wild animals to quench their ravenous appetite.

Due to evolution, humans developed the ability to collaborate,communicate and live together in harmony and respect the environment. The advent of science and technology changed the humankind as a whole. It created new problems such as air, water, soil pollution etc.

Hence,the environmental conditions underwent myriad changes from prehistoric times. As time progressed, the human body adapted to its ever-changing surroundings. Hence, emulating the diet of prehistoric humans would be a daunting task. The assumption could have been entrenched if there were any evidences of results from any research that backed up this claim.

Fallacy 2 : Ancient humans' knowledge about their body's physiology:

This assumption ,again, is not backed up with proper evidence. Ancient humans were great hunters but they were not known for their intelligence. They did not posses the scientific curiosity to examine something.

Their behaviour was synonymous to that of animals. The study of human body requires a modicum of scientific curiosity and discipline which the ancient humans were completely devoid of. As time progressed ,humans became aware of the surroundings and learned enamor the beauty of human body. This eventually lead to the various discoveries related to human physiology.

Hence, the argument makes some unwarranted assumptions.