Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The assumption that ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don't, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses, depends on a faulty cause and effect assumption. This argument relies on anectodal evidence without considering the fact that they did not properly test their claims with control groups, and did not even consider alternate explanations.

The problem with anectodal evidence, is that it can be very persuading yet lack any kind of scientific or truthful standing. In this case, the argument states that because of the strong anectodal evidence that exists, they should believe that the effect is true. This is not a good point to stand on. If there was a group of people that all raved about how they have experienced health benefits by drinking their own urine, would it make their experience valid? No. Critical analysis and scientific inquiry is the only way that cause and effect relationship can become valid. This argument failed to examine properly the relationship, by relying on the anectodal evidence of others.

Seconly, the argument falls under the cause and effect assumption without even considering the fact that that there is no way to properly test the claims made by human ancestors. Without a control group in which to compare the effects, their claims can not be taken seriously. For example, if human ancestors who were eating bone broth were compared to people who were not, would only those who drank the bone broth experience the benefits? We should not then jump to the conclusion that they somehow knew more about our physiology that we don't now know. They are missing more logial reasoning.

Finally, when making a cause and effect claim, scientists must consider all possible variables that could be causing the effect. In this case, they assumed that it was the bone broth that was producing the benefits, but what if it was another cause. Maybe the benefits were actually coming from the reduced sugar in their diets, or because they were a lot more active. Untill all these possible third variables are considered, it would be wrong to assume that the benefits that they are experiencing are from the diet.

Before making such a bold claim that ancient humans have the key to health, it is important to analyze the steps taken to reach this conclusion. Anectodal evidence is not a reliable or valid source in which to make claims about cause and effect on. Furthermore, one must consider the research methods used to make these claims and look for valid measures such as control groups and ruling out third variables. Without taking these neessary steps, the evidence is not sufficient to make this claim. Therefore, the claim tat ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don't is unwarrented.